CLA Book Awards Luncheon

    Date: Thursday June 2nd


    CLA Book Awards Luncheon generously sponsored by TD

    CLA Book Awards generously sponsored by LSC

    CLA Book Awards generously sponsored by LSC

    Time: 11:00 AM to 12:45 PM

    Room: International Ballroom B


    Literary and graphic excellence in books for children and young adults is encouraged and promoted through the Book Awards program of the Canadian Library Association. On this day we publicly honour the recipients of the CLA Book of the Year for Children, the Amelia Frances Howard – Gibbon Illustrator’s Award and the Young Adult Book Award.

    On this day, we and our luncheon sponsor TD Financial, invite you to join the winning authors for their award presentation, lunch and an opportunity to meet and greet. Each ticket includes one copy of a winning author’s book thanks to the generous sponsorship of Library Services Centre.

    Note this is a ticketed session: cost is $30 for Forum registrants / $ 40 non-Forum registrants
    To purchase tickets visit our registration page

    Congratulations to our winners!



    the-nest-The 2016 CLA Book of the Year for Children Award goes to The Nest by Kenneth Oppel, illustrated by Jon Klassen, published by HarperCollins Canada. This respected award honours a book published in Canada in 2015 by a Canadian author that appeals to readers aged 12 and younger.

    Summer should be a time of fun and relaxation but for Steve it is full of anxiety and worries: worries about his baby brother who is fighting to live, worries about his parents who are consumed by their own worries for their sick newborn, and worries about the wasp nest on their house that seems to grow larger with every day.

    Then Steve starts dreaming of angels who live in the wasp nest and are going to fix the baby. Everything is going to be fine, they just need Steve to do a few things for them first. Kenneth Oppel has written an eerie, suspenseful tale about the desire for perfection, acceptance, and love. The gothic atmosphere of the tale is perfectly complemented by Klassen’s evocative illustrations. It’s a creepy and thrilling story that will stay with readers long after they put it down.

    To view the full announcement click here
    To view the announcement of the short-list click here


    Groundwood Logos SpineThe 2016 Amelia Frances Howard – Gibbon Illustrator’s Award goes to Sidewalk Flowers, by JonArno Lawson, illustrated by Sydney Smith, and published by Groundwood Books. This award recognizes an illustrator of a noteworthy Canadian book, published in 2015, that appeals to children up to the age of 12 years.

    Warm and touching, this wordless picture book follows a young girl returning home and her experiences on the way. Starting with bold black and white pen and ink strokes save for a child’s bright red coat, and gradually moving into full, gentle watercolours, illustrator Sydney Smith takes us into Lawson’s wordless poetic narrative to glimpse beauty in a gritty city landscape through a child’s eyes and heart. In this authentic setting and relevant tale, dad and daughter walk through a current city downtown completing errands as dad talks on his cell phone, not neglecting daughter but not seeing what she sees – the wild flowers and weeds she picks along the route and gives as gifts to various other characters, some joyous and some sad. The well-developed characters breathe through the artistic medium and original story sequence. Smith’s exquisite use of line, shape, colour and perspective are integral to creating deep meaning, character and mood.

    Sydney Smith has created illustrations that make the book accessible on many levels for any age – this would be a great story for a child and their parent to explore together. Children will relate to the protagonist and her eye for “beauty amongst the ruins”, and her impulse to give away flower bouquets.

    To view the full announcement click here
    To view the announcement of  the short-list click here


    the-scorpion-rulesThe 2016 Young Adult Book Award goes to The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow, published by Simon & Schuster Canada. This award recognizes an author of an outstanding English – language Canadian work of fiction (novel, collection of short stories or graphic novel), published in 2015 that appeals to young adults between the ages of 13 and 18.

    Four centuries after an Artificial Intelligence known as Talis conquers the world in an attempt to prevent humanity from vanishing, the world has broken into smaller territories and are controlled by Talis’ AI agents and orbital cannons with one goal in mind: make it personal.  Everyone from each territory who is a would-be ruler must submit a child to be kept as a hostage in one of Talis’ Preceptures; and if necessary could be slain if that country misbehaves.  The heroine of the novel is Greta Gustafsen Stuart, Duchess of Halifax and Crown Princess of the Pan Polar Confederacy.  As a Precepture, she is also a Child of peace, a prisoner.  When Elian Palnik enters Greta’s world as a hostage from another Alliance, everything changes.  Elian refuses to play along with the system to follow the rules.  Greta’s eyes are opened to the truth, challenging the reality she has existed under for years.  Greta’s and Elian’s countries declare war, and the impact reaches to all Children of Peace.

    Erin Bow has crafted a gripping dystopian adventure which truly explores the price of power.  With its imaginative world and well-developed characters, the author enables the reader to experience Greta’s conflicts and uncertainty, allowing “what it means to be human” to unveil.  With shocking twists, heart-stopping emotional moments, this novel brings you to another time and place with passion, humour, intrigue, and suspense.

    To view the full announcement click here
    To view the announcement of the short-list click here